Main menu


Terp Legends Elmore and Winters-Scott Inducted into DC Sports Hall of Fame

featured image

washington dc — Six players, including two Terrapin, Maryland legends with distinguished sports backgrounds, and one team with an exciting run to their first-ever championship, headed to Washington Nationals Baseball was inducted into the Washington, D.C. Sports Hall of Fame on Sunday. A game against the St. Louis Cardinals at Nationals Park.

2022 DC Sports Hall of Fame Class Includes Basketball Greats and Maryland Hall of Famers Ren Elmore When Outstanding basketball player at South Lakes High School and University of Maryland Christy Winters scottwith the late basketball promoter and innovator Bob Geoganthree-time world boxing champion Mark “Too Sharp” JohnsonWashington Nationals Managing Principal Owner and Community Philanthropist Mark LernerAmerican Mile Record Holder, Olympian Alan Webb When . 2021 NWSL Champion washington spirit Certified as a Team of Distinction.

Len Elmore: An All-American and All-ACC center at the University of Maryland, remains the Terps’ all-time leading rebounder, the only player to reach both 1,000 rebounds and 1,000 points, and a 10-year professional in the ABA and NBA, respected as a lawyer. TV analyst and member of the Knights Commission for Intercollegiate Athletics.

Christy Winters Scott: Widely considered South Lakes High School’s all-time greatest women’s basketball player, she led the Seahawks to a 29-0 record, won the 1986 Virginia AAA state title as a senior, and won the consensus DC Metro Selected as an Area All-Met Player. Year. As a University of Maryland star, she was one of her all-time leaders in most statistical categories for her Terps and finished first team her All-ACC as a senior. She is an acclaimed basketball commentator and a successful coach who had a winning season at her high school alma mater.

Members of the DC Sports Hall of Fame selection committee are Chairman Bobby Goldwater, a Georgetown University Sports Industry Management master’s faculty member and a sports industry consultant. Charlie Brotman, Honorary Chairman and veteran of his DC Public Affairs Officer; Former Radio and Television His Reporter/Producer Brenda J. Curtis Haken. Journalist David Elphin. Communications Executive and Adjunct Instructor Meredith Geisler. Television and radio personality Chick Hernandez. Attorney Phil Hochberg. Mark Lerner, managing principal owner of the Washington Nationals. Former Shirley Povich Center for Sports Journalism Director, University of Maryland, George Solomons. Basketball executive and former coach Ed Tapscott. Attorney Mark Tuhy. radio and television personality and former Washington pro his football tight end Rick “Doc” Walker; Baseball commentator and historian Phil Wood. Joe Yasharoff, journalist and visiting professor at Merrill University.

“This distinguished group of awardees elevates the honorary roll of the DC Sports Hall of Fame. With the inauguration of influential sports and community leaders… Together, they represent sporting excellence in the nation’s capital,” said Goldwater.

“The DC Sports Hall of Fame once again thanks our co-host organization, the Washington Nationals, and the Lerner family for their support in hosting the inauguration ceremony at our ballpark on July 31,” Goldwater added.

Individual candidates to be included must have high profile in the Washington area through their achievements in sport as athletes, coaches, owners, managers, members of the media or contributors. Any professional, college, or high school team that has made a significant and positive impact on the Greater Washington community through outstanding achievements is eligible for recognition as a Team of Distinction.